Shiva Thapa and Devendro Singh gear up for Asian Boxing Championship

India’s defending champion Shiva Thapa (56kg) and Commonwealth Games silver-medallist Mandeep Jangra (69kg) will form the part of a 10 member squad for representing India in the Asian Boxing Championship that is to be held in Bangkok from 24th August to 6th September.


New Delhi : “The selection of boxers was made on the basis of trials held on July 17th and 18th, 2015 at NIS, Patiala. The selection was handled by former greats of Indian Boxing Capt Gopal Devang, Chairman Selection Commission, Capt Padam Bahadur Mall Vice Chairman & Mr Rajkumar Sangwan, who are all Arjuna Awardee boxers along with Mr Gurbaksh Singh Sandhu, the Dronacharya Awardee Head Coach of Elite Men’s Team,” the ad-hoc committee currently running the sport in the country said in a statement.

Besides Shiva Thapa and Mandeep, the team also features L Devendro Singh (49kg), a silver-medallist in the previous edition. He had also finished second in last year’s Commonwealth Games.

In the 75kg division, former World Championships bronze-medallist Vikas Krishan took the place of Vijender Singh, who turned professional bidding adieu to his amateur career recently.

The team will leave for Bangkok on August 24 and return on September 6.

Boxers in the squad : L Devendro Singh (49kg), Madan Lal (52kg), Shiva Thapa (56kg), Manish Kaushik (60kg), Manoj Kumar (64kg), Mandeep Jangra (69kg), Vikas Krisan (75kg), Kuldeep Singh (81kg), Manpreet Singh (91kg), Satish Kumar (+91kg).