Super Smash League Winners List Overall Seasons

Another season of the Great Super Smash League is near to start. The matches will be airing live from 8:30 AM IST onwards on 13th of December and conclude with the final match on 20th January. The league is going to cover total 32 T20 matches including 1 Preliminary Final and a final match. While this season will be featuring 6 teams similar to its previous seasons. Also, all the matches will be played at 11 different venues across the country. Below is the complete Super Smash League Winners since its inaugural season.

The league is entering its 13th season this year since its commencement in 2005. Since then many great teams have evolved as the champions of the tournament from its very first season. This topic is totally dedicated to those winners who have made the league even bigger by their insane presence and performance. Let’s check out the complete list of Super Smash League Winners from its Overall Seasons. Here is the complete Super Smash 2017 Schedule.

Super Smash League Winners


Super Smash League Winners

1. Canterbury Wizards – Season 1 Winner

Canterbury Wizards won the first season of the prestigious league with their great performance in the overall season. In the final match, Auckland managed to score a decent 179 runs after losing 7 wickets from 20 overs in the first inning. On the other hand, Canterbury managed to chase the score in just 17.2 overs thanks to the great partnership between Brendon Barrie McCullum and Nathan John Astle.

2. Auckland Aces – Season 2 Winner

The winner of the second season of the league is Auckland Aces in the year 2006-07. In the final match. Auckland Aces started the inning with a blast with the openers scoring good runs. They gave a huge score of 211 runs to chase to their opponents. but their opponents Otago were unable to chase it and got all out after scoring 151 runs.

3. Central Districts Stags – Season 3 Winner

Central Districts Stags won the third season of the league in the year 2007-08. In the final match, Northern Knights started the innings with and scored 148 runs after losing 8 wickets from 20 overs. On the other hand, Central Districts Stags managed to chase the run in just 16.3 overs after losing 5 wickets.

4. Otago Volts – Season 4 Winner

Otago Volts a good performer in the league, at last, got their first title in the 4th season in the year 2008-09. The final got abandoned without a ball bowled and the Otago Volts was declared as the winner due to the top in season charts and scored more points than their opponent.

5. Central Districts Stags – Season 5 Winner

They won the 5th season due to the great performance of their skilled players in the overall tournament. In the final match, Central Districts Stags started the innings and due to the great batting by Ross Taylor, the team was able to give a huge score of 206 runs to their opponents. While the opponents Auckland, due to the big pressure of final as well as to score a huge score got all out on a minimum score of just 128 runs.

Here is the complete table of Super Smash League Winners

Tournament Final
Winner Result Runner-up
2005-06 Canterbury Wizards
180 for 4 (17.2 overs)
won by 6 wickets Auckland Aces
179 for 7 (20 overs)
2006-07 Auckland Aces
211 for 5 (20 overs)
won by 60 runs Otago Volts
151 all out (20 overs)
2007-08 Central Districts Stags
150 for 5 (16.3 overs)
won by 5 wickets Northern Knights
148 for 8 (20 overs)
2008-09 Otago Volts won by topping group stage (final washed out) Canterbury Wizards
2009-10 Central Districts Stags
206 for 6 (20 overs)
won by 78 runs Auckland Aces
128 all out (16.1 overs)
2010-11 Auckland Aces
158 for 8 (20 overs)
won by 4 runs Central Districts Stags
154 for 9 (20 overs)
2011-12 Auckland Aces
196 for 5 (20 overs)
won by 44 runs Canterbury Wizards
152 all out (18.3 overs)
2012-13 Otago Volts
145 for 6 (18.3 overs)
won by 4 wickets Wellington Firebirds
143 for 9 (20 overs)
2013-14 Northern Knights
144 for 5 (19.0 overs)
won by 5 wickets Otago Volts
143 for 5 (20 overs)
2014-15 Wellington Firebirds
186 for 6 (20 overs)
won by 6 runs Auckland Aces
180 for 9 (20 overs)
2015-16 Auckland Aces
166 for 6 (20 overs)
won by 20 runs Otago Volts
146 for 9 (20 overs)
2016-17 Wellington Firebirds
172 for 7 (20 overs)
won by 14 runs Central Stags
158 for 8 (20 overs)

Leave a Reply